Georgia Off Road Visit Highland Park
Not logged in.
Member Login
Not Registered?
Home
News
Forums
Calendar
Ladies
Gallery
Track Map
MX Tracks
ORV Trails
Dirt Bike Guide
Reviews
Dealer Guide - our own yellow pages!
Contact GOR Administrators
Georgia Offroad

Create Your Badge


1986 Honda CR250
Show All Dirt Bikes
Go back to the Honda CR list

1986 Honda CR250

Date Added March 21, 2000

Page Views

24,007

Reviews

Read 10 Reviews
Write a Review

Average Rating

93/100

Photos

1

Specifications

No

1986 Honda CR250 Reviews
MX Tuner
Team GOR


Joined: 04/28/2002
Posts: 10671
Location: Woodstock, GA

Posted: Jan 9, 2013 4:16 PM   Back to Top
1986 CR250 (Score: +1, Informative)
Power
Smooth power- not as brutal as some of the newer models but still more than adequate.
Ergonomics
Great bike for the state of technology for its era.
Suspension, Front
Good forks but not quite as the 1987 which had the magical cartridge forks that were amazing.
Suspension, Rear
Above average- it worked well.
Brakes
Good for their age. Disc brakes were just getting used and were very good for their time.
Comments
Great bike- competitive for vintage Evo class racing.
Rating
90
Rider Height / Weight / Skill
5'9" / 170 / Intermediate
Log in to report abuse
clayon

Joined: 02/28/2006
Posts: 3
Location: Las Vegas,NV

Posted: Feb 28, 2006 5:19 PM   Back to Top
One good bike (Score:1)
Power
The motor is very strong. It will get you there and back and then some. It has great bottom end for getting up big hills and through big mud holes. I pulled comp hill in about 3 gear. The top ends pretty good and the mid-range is ok. Very fast when you get it into 5th.
Ergonomics
Feels like your on a cloud but kinda hurts after a few hours
Suspension, Front
Only thing I can say is perfect. Not to hard and not to soft.
Suspension, Rear
Kinda hard but great for jumping. When you land you just glide on by.
Brakes
The front seem to wanna lock up but they do fine but the back will stop you no matter how fast you are going.
Comments
Overall its a great bike for as old as it is. and I must say it kicks the crap out of the newer 125 and 250s
Rating
95
Log in to report abuse

moonman41
Legacy Account

Reviews: 1


Location: Stone Mtn, Ga


Registered:
Jun 17, 2004

Send Email Email

Posted: Jun 22, 2004 7:16 PM   Back to Top
Legacy Review (Score:1)
Power
Low end could be better this bike likes RPM keep it up and it will take you there.
Suspension
Bought mine with a 1997 subframe and 97 rear shock fitted. I am pleased with the ride. I have gotten into trouble and the rear shock has suprised me. I cant say anything bad about the front forks either except to recomend 5 weight oil.
Brakes
No trouble here disc was responsive up front and drum didnt give me any trouble all day
Comments
Its an older bike but I own a 1983 model of the same make and model. In 3 years Honda came a long way. this bike is solid surefooted and fairly fast. I was comfortable jumping it. If your looking at older bikes to ride. I think this is a good choice. I am very happy with mine.
Rating
90
Log in to report abuse

Adambomb
Legacy Account

Reviews: 2


Location: Sydney Australia


Registered:
Jul 20, 2003

Send Email Email

Posted: Jul 20, 2003 8:52 PM   Back to Top
Legacy Review (Score:1)
Power
decent low end, fantastic mid range, and keeps pulling well into the top end.

you dont reaslise how fast yoru goign until you have to stop.
Suspension
The suspension on my bike is o k, but it is a bit sad . i am gettign it rebuilt soon, so i`ll post comments then
Brakes
fantasic. i can lock the front wheel and or do stoppies at will. good enough for me. the back drum seems to just lock , like its all or niothing, but it works ok
Comments
My first bike, and i love her. It is a wheelie machine, any gear, just lean back and pin it. good, fun bike
Rating
95
Log in to report abuse

Honda the red rider
Legacy Account

Reviews: 1


Location: Thunder Bay Ont.


Registered:
May 1, 2003

Send Email Email

Posted: May 1, 2003 4:50 PM   Back to Top
Legacy Review (Score:1)
Power
This bike supply's power on demand lots of low end and the top end is fierce mid is average
Suspension
suspension is a little soft rear but can be fixed front is good and solid.
Brakes
front is good stops dead when needed, drum works better than the later models with disc on the rear.
Comments
This is a great bike and a little work on this bike goes a long way

Honda for those who ride red!
Rating
100
Log in to report abuse

rearwheelwonder
Legacy Account

Reviews: 12


Location: raleigh, nc


Registered:
Mar 31, 2003

Send Email Email

Posted: Apr 14, 2003 11:03 AM   Back to Top
Legacy Review (Score:1)
Power
the low end is one of the best i have seen, for a 250 that is. the mid is good also but then when u hit the top it just dies out and seems to get slower
Suspension
the suspension was good. i could jump most things and not have a problem,but the huge stuff it would be rough and would bottom, but over little stuff it would jump around a little but it was still good
Brakes
frong great, the rear was better than my '89 with disk breaks. very nice
Comments
this bike is great for the low end. but im a top end man so i sold it and got a newer with all top, but if u like low end grunt this bike is for you!!
Rating
95
Log in to report abuse

Dapunza
Legacy Account

Reviews: 1


Location: Lilburn, GA


Registered:
Apr 5, 2003

Send Email Email

Posted: Apr 6, 2003 1:11 AM   Back to Top
Legacy Review (Score:1)
Power
Unlike the other reviews, I have a lot of power at mid to high end. The guy who owned it before me did a lot of sand riding so I think the pipe makes a big difference. I had to go with a 51 tooth sprocket which helped with power at low end but took a sweet spot away I had in 3rd gear.
Suspension
The rears bottom out way too easy, but then offers a great ride over rocks and roots. Fronts are perfect for me.
Brakes
I'm happy with both. Infact I prefer the rear drum over disk except when I go through a lot of water and they groan.
Comments
This is the best of both worlds. the 86' is supposed to be one of Honda's best years. I go scarry fast on this bike, and only wish it was lighter like my friens 96'. I lusted after this bike in 9th grade and will always keep it even if I get a newer one. It's been dropped and layed down probably a hundred times, most of the pastic is held on with zip ties,and yet she just takes the abuse... Hey, it's a "Dirt Bike"
Rating
95
Log in to report abuse

bennyriz
Legacy Account

Reviews: 9


Location: Lilburn, GA


Registered:
Feb 2, 2001

Send Email Email

Posted: Mar 2, 2002 9:16 PM   Back to Top
Legacy Review (Score:1)
Power
good low end, snappy mid, top seems to be a bit flat, but does the job.
Suspension
rer is acceptable, but a bit soft. I love the front. it is also to soft but i stiffened bot up with some ajustment.
Brakes
front disk isn't very impressive although it will stop you. Rear drum works well for a drum brake, very responise.
Comments
This is a very good bike, it does everything very well, but don't expect to much top end. It is an extreme whelly machine and has very nice suspension(once set up properly)the brakes could use some work, but it is very impressive for an older bike. I LOVE IT!




-if it aint red, leave it in the shed!
Rating
90
Log in to report abuse

gabe
Legacy Account

Reviews: 25


Location: Lilburn, GA


Registered:
May 6, 2001

Send Email Email

Posted: Jun 14, 2001 11:50 PM   Back to Top
Legacy Review (Score:1)
Power
Makes a good deal of power in the low-rpm range and dies out in the mid. And then, nothing is made. It lacks snap type power. Since the snap is gone. It is hard to get the rear wheel spinning. (in dry soil) But, because of the lack of snap; It makes a serious wheelie machine. :)
Suspension
Front could use some work. Too rough. Rear is great! I have no complaints.
Brakes
Front works great! Rear works better! But, I've always had problems with the bushings wearing out. Causing the brake to wear too often.
Comments
This is a great bike. If you are looking for one. I would get it. But, you need to consider a few things. It lacks snap. But, it makes EXTREMLY good torque do to the snap problem. A DMC exhaust system helps alot. Something to think about. Fun bike!
Rating
90
Log in to report abuse

m_refos
Legacy Account

Reviews: 1


Location: Lilburn, GA


Registered:
May 9, 2001

Send Email Email

Posted: May 21, 2001 11:08 PM   Back to Top
Legacy Review (Score:1)
Power
good enough!
Suspension
the front suspention is way better than the one in the rear.
Brakes
good
Comments
Strong bike.. I just fixed al the little things in mine and except for the drum brakes in the back i wouldn't change a thing!
Rating
90
Log in to report abuse

Keywords: 1986, Honda, CR250, , 1986 Honda CR250 , CR, 250, review, rate, opinions, photo, image, specifications, Dirt Bike Guide, GOR, georgiaoffroad.com

 







Northeast Georgia Motorsports
Hyperformance Cycles - Woodstock, GA
KTM Parts
Off Camber Riders Association
Honda Rider Education Center