Georgia Off Road Visit Highland Park
Not logged in.
Member Login
Not Registered?
Home
News
Forums
Calendar
Ladies
Gallery
Track Map
MX Tracks
ORV Trails
Dirt Bike Guide
Reviews
Dealer Guide - our own yellow pages!
Contact GOR Administrators
Georgia Offroad

Create Your Badge


1988 Honda CR125
Show All Dirt Bikes
Go back to the Honda CR list

1988 Honda CR125

Date Added March 21, 2000

Page Views

19,045

Reviews

Read 9 Reviews
Write a Review

Average Rating

92/100

Photos

0

Specifications

No

1988 Honda CR125 Reviews
kx4ever

Joined: 11/21/2012
Posts: 2

Posted: Nov 21, 2012 6:40 PM   Back to Top
1988 Honda cr125r (Score:1)
Power
Over all its a very nice bike. Great top end, runs about 70 full throttle i have used gps to prove this its a great race bike but for the trails bottom end power is not the best. power band is very narrow but once it hits hold on.
Ergonomics
lay out is fine, but shorter levers could of made the fell of the bars better
Suspension, Front
great suspension a little stiff put its all in how you set it up
Suspension, Rear
a little soft but its all in how you set it up
Brakes
very well, stops on the dime and no fade
Comments
a great bike would not recommend for a beginner but a great bike for a spode or up rider. i payed 500 for mine and it had lots of new stuff and had no problems with it.
Rating
90
Rider Height / Weight / Skill
6'2 / 236 / Intermediate
Log in to report abuse
kx4ever

Joined: 11/21/2012
Posts: 2

Posted: Nov 21, 2012 6:25 PM   Back to Top
1988 Honda cr125r (Score:1)
Power
Over all its a very nice bike. Great top end, runs about 70 full throttle i have used gps to prove this its a great race bike but for the trails bottom end power is not the best. power band is very narrow but once it hits hold on.
Ergonomics
lay out is fine, but shorter levers could of made the fell of the bars better
Suspension, Front
great suspension a little stiff put its all in how you set it up
Suspension, Rear
a little soft but its all in how you set it up
Brakes
very well, stops on the dime and no fade
Comments
a great bike would not recommend for a beginner but a great bike for a spode or up rider. i payed 500 for mine and it had lots of new stuff and had no problems with it.
Rating
90
Rider Height / Weight / Skill
6'2 / 236 / Intermediate
Log in to report abuse
flintdog

Joined: 11/21/2011
Posts: 1

Posted: Nov 29, 2011 8:00 PM   Back to Top
'88 CR125 (Score:1)
Power
Possibly the best top end ever in a stock bike. Not much on the low end, with a strong hit into the midrange. Had a port job and fmf pipe/silencer installed to improve low to mid transition with no loss to top pull. Great motor!
Ergonomics
Ergo was great... Everything fell right into place. Stock bar bend felt awkward, but a set of renthals fixed it right up
Suspension, Front
Slightly harsh mid stroke, but some small oil/ spring adjustments made it prety good
Suspension, Rear
Same as forks, harsh in the middle, with a rather abrubt rebound. Easy to fix with slight adjustments
Brakes
Great brakes, no fade at all. I don't understand the other reviewers complaints about the front brake.
Comments
My favorite dirt bike that i've owned.
Rating
95
Rider Height / Weight / Skill
5'8" / 170 lbs. / Expert
Log in to report abuse
grove

Joined: 03/20/2008
Posts: 2
Location: jacksonville, fl

Posted: Mar 20, 2008 8:06 PM   Back to Top
outstanding bike (Score:1)
Power
in stock form, low end sucked, but the mid to top was great. the biggest gain in power was when i installed the boyeseen rad valve. it transformed that engine into a killing machine. the engine was awesome. low end was improved by alot. and this bike was fast. it kept up and passed alot of newer bikes.
Ergonomics
everything felt great!
Suspension, Front
good
Suspension, Rear
good
Brakes
were good. they stopped the bike real quick. did have to adjust the front brake so it wouldnt come on so strong and flip over.
Comments
in stock form the bike was good. good power. now after i installed the rad valve, fmf pipe, stock silencer, wiseco racing piston, home ported and polished the intake and exhaust, good jetting, this bike ripped! what was funny, is my dad had a 92 rm 250, we dragged race several times, and i beat him several times.
Rating
100
Rider Height / Weight / Skill
5'11 / 155 / Intermediate
Log in to report abuse

Motocross125Mike
Legacy Account

Reviews: 8


Location: Warren/Youngstown Ohio


Registered:
Apr 12, 2004

Send Email Email

Posted: Apr 12, 2004 10:36 PM   Back to Top
Legacy Review (Score:1)
Power
This was the bike I temporarily had and raced for about a few months or so while my 1989 kx125 was down (that we thought possibly had a bad set of clutch plates).Yet this bike and I said this on my review of my 1989 kx 125,actually on a straightaway blew passed my 1989 kx125 like it was truly standing still (just like the phrase says - it's true),I never saw such an explosive and dangerously fast top-end like this until 9 years later on my 1998rm125.I never dreamed a top end was this or could be this fast back then.I remember racing this bike and they thought I illegaly modified (back at the time) and tried to prevent me from racing my second moto.It was just that fast and ran by anything on a straightaway.
Suspension
Please refer to the next box below for the "handling" feature,because I would have said the very same thing here again and I didn't want to repeat myself.
Brakes
Really no complaints here they were decent,not the best (wanted to be honest) yet they did the job!
Comments
If you could have put this motor inside the 1989 kx125 frame then this would have been the bike of the decade and would still be competitive now.It's ashame that when I blew (as I remember) 3100.00 for my 1989 kx125 that I found out this bike was this much faster then it.I remember feeling very sick and envious because of it,yet not it's handling/suspension/and overall feel like it was going ot fall apart.Yet thanks again DAVE for letting me barrow it back in that summer of 1989! I give it overall an 80,not because anything major went wrong with it,but because it was so fast,yet the handling just ruined it so you couldn't reap the rewards of having that powerful/fast of a motor.It definitely needed some "pro-action" suspension treatment.
Rating
80
Log in to report abuse

Gooba
Legacy Account

Reviews: 8


Location: Warren/Youngstown Ohio


Registered:
Apr 1, 2004

Send Email Email

Posted: Apr 1, 2004 11:12 PM   Back to Top
Legacy Review (Score:1)
Power
Just keep it revved and it will move. It beat my friends's 1996 Yamaha WR 250 2 stroke.
Suspension
Not bad, not great though.
Brakes
They worked pretty good, but it doesn't take much to slow down a light bike like this.
Comments
My friend's bike, but I have rode it enough to know how it is. I like it.
Rating
90
Log in to report abuse


Joined:
Posts:

Posted: Jan 31, 2003 9:28 AM   Back to Top
(Score:1)
Power
weak bottom end.as soon as it hits midrange it fuckin flies!!
Suspension
good
Brakes
front wicked.back ok
Comments
fuckin great!!!!
Rating
95
Log in to report abuse

motomaniac186
Legacy Account

Reviews: 1


Location: Warren/Youngstown Ohio


Registered:
Jun 14, 2002

Send Email Email

Posted: Aug 14, 2002 3:41 PM   Back to Top
Legacy Review (Score:1)
Power
low end kinda bites (its a 125)but nice top end, just scream it everywere though i was a bit to big for the bike so that might make a differance
Suspension
fairly good all round
Brakes
threw me on my face more than once
Comments
great starter bike that has a screamin top end
Rating
85
Log in to report abuse

crazed
Legacy Account

Reviews: 4


Location: Warren/Youngstown Ohio


Registered:
Jul 24, 2001

Send Email Email

Posted: Jul 24, 2001 11:51 PM   Back to Top
Legacy Review (Score:1)
Power
the low end is sluggish but when you hit the mid it hauls butt!the top end explodes with a broad powerband that almost tears your arm off.
Suspension
Good on both small to big jumps.the mono is perfect but my front is a little weak.
Brakes
excellent! the back is good but the front is better.just don't squeeze to hard or you'll endo over.
Comments
if you come across this bike and its under $1800, get it. I would put this thing up to any other late 80's 125 other than a yz.
Rating
100
Log in to report abuse

Keywords: 1988, Honda, CR125, , 1988 Honda CR125 , CR, 125, review, rate, opinions, photo, image, specifications, Dirt Bike Guide, GOR, georgiaoffroad.com